Myriad of now (LP)

Artist: Hawthorne Headhunters
Title: Myriad of Now
Buy on CD
Buy on Itunes

1 Sum People Don’t Change 4:00
2 Collage (feat. Rockwell Knuckles & Tef Poe) 3:33
3 Luv Galactic (feat. I Am) 5:08
4 If You Were My Baby 3:32
5 If You Were My Baby (Reprise) 3:59
6 Boats in Your Eyes (feat. I Am) 4:29
7 My Sweet Heart the Drunk 3:07
8 Yellow Cougar 4:28
9 No Crying Now, No Lyin Down 3:07
10 Whirlwind 4:33
11 Ghostfields 3:48
12 Fairweather (feat. Von Pea & Haz Solo) 5:44
13 Hole in the World 7:15
14 Teleport 3:31
15 Tribute 3:20

Plug Research compilation : Free download !

This is a free compilation that we wanted to share with everyone. All brand new music coming out on plug during the spring quarter of 2012. We have been at this for the last 15 years and at some point this year, we will have had our 200th release. This is the year of letting go. Opening the flood gates of Plug Research for all to enjoy all of the wonders we have in our vaults.

Download all 12 tracks, FREE. Share this with anyone and everyone!
You just have to enter your email below, and you will get the download link.





Out Today, The Hawthorne Headhunters ‘Myriad of NOW’ EP!

Buy on iTunes

Hawthorne Headhunters – “If You Were My Baby”

Buy on iTunes: If You Were My Baby

In search of some new, Black Spade migrated out west to soak up the vibrant Southern California vibes and promptly met producer Proh Mic at the famed Do-Over. The two hit it off and began toying with music, soon bringing I,Ced, another St. Louis expat in LA, into the fold. The collective was taking shape and drew their moniker from ‘Ced’s residence in Hawthorne, California. The St. Louis natives reached out to their old comrade Coultrain and he eventually moved out to LA as well. A jam session at the HVW8 gallery solidified the group’s identity and the creative relationship with it’s owner resulted in an eponymous EP in 2009. Made up of songs done with no intention of release, the EP was the first physical manifestation of Hawthorne Headhunters on HVW8 Records in 2009.

The creative process of the newly formed group was very natural. Members of the group liken the approach to that of old Jazz musicians; organic and instinctual, drawing from whatever influences they were feeling and writing about whatever was on their mind. ; They began plotting a full length record, but Proh Mic and Ced decided to pursue solo endeavors instead of focusing on the group and ‘Train and Spade became the official torch-bearers of Hawthorne Headhunters. The duo went in the studio and Myriad of Now was recorded, a 14-track collection of Funk, Electro, R and more that speaks on spirituality, sexuality and everything in between. Carrying on the lineage of Black music dating back to the Blues and the inception of Jazz, Hawthorne Headhunters melt influences together to break new ground.

During the summer of 2011 Los Angeles based label, Plug Research Music, picked up distribution of the album from HVW8 which brings us to the release of the first single from Myriad of Now called “If You Were My Baby (Reprise)” which also features the track “Teleport.