Download the new Tensei EP “II”

Support Tensei here:

After the release of their EP One, Tensei, which consists of Chicago based musicians Simple X and Midas Wells, have released their second instrumental effort, Two on LA based label, Plug Research. Inspired by ‘70s soul, afro-funk, and themed soundtracks that recall espionage, Two builds from the experimental hip-hop inspired beats of One.

However, Two takes the groove deeper with its jazzy inflections, ethnic rhythms, cosmic electronics, and live instrumentation making it a bit more soulful and funkier. The one vocal track, “Think Twice,” which features multi-instrumentalist Khari Lemuel of TheOnes and Jae Franklin is an ode to the infectious soul classics of yesteryear with a modernized twist while “Passport,” which was featured on the Plug Research Compilation, is a an exquisite soundbed filled with lush pleasantries. And while this is Tensei’s second formal release, it still marks the beginning for the artists so journey with them as they continue on a path that pushes the limits and boundaries of hip hop inspired beat making and production to higher elevation.

Plug Research compilation : Free download !

This is a free compilation that we wanted to share with everyone. All brand new music coming out on plug during the spring quarter of 2012. We have been at this for the last 15 years and at some point this year, we will have had our 200th release. This is the year of letting go. Opening the flood gates of Plug Research for all to enjoy all of the wonders we have in our vaults.

Download all 12 tracks, FREE. Share this with anyone and everyone!
You just have to enter your email below, and you will get the download link.





Artist: Tensei
Title: One EP
Cat#: PLG127-D


Buy on Itunes


All songs written, produced, mixed, and arranged by Tensei
Guitar on Track 3, 6, 7, 10 by David Taylor
Guitar on Track 4, 9 by Greg Firak
Violin on Track 1, 2, 8 by Savor Faire
Harp on Track 1 by Brandee Younger
Sitar on Track 5 by Tyler Randall
Additional Keys on Track 1, 6 by Greg Spero
Background Vocals on Track 4 by Scarlet Monk
Background Vocals on Track 6 by Khari Lemuel
Lyrics on Smash Mouth Written by Tehray Hale, Stevin Levin, Khari Lemuel, & Yaw Agyeman
Lyrics on For the Love Written by Demetrius Barry, Bryan Braceful, & Yaw Agyeman
Lyrics on Fly Trap Written by Anna Helena Zimowska
Cover Art by Sam “Shardstyle” Rolfes
Smash Mouth Vocals recorded at RGB Studios, Chicago IL

Plug Research Podcast #14: Tensei

From the Vaults of Tensei!
1. Pressure ft. Scud One
2. Adad n Tensei -“Smoke it out”
3. The Primeridian ft. Mike Flo – “Full Throttle” (Instrumental)
4. Delta (You Changed)
5. Bilal ft. Adad “Robots” (Tensei Remix)
6. Its Mine
7. 4am
8. Listen Close ft. Scud One
9. Houston People
10. Walk on
11. Lucid
12. 97 Degree’s
13. Tribute
14. Fire flies
15. Wes Restless and Ill Legit “Too Familiar” (Tensei Remix Instrumental)
16. Stateless – “Ballad of NGB” (Tensei Remix Instrumental)
17. Giant City
18. Don’t Look Back
19. Take “Neon Beams” (Tensei Remix)

Mix by Tensei
Violin – Savoir Faire
Trumpet – Kafele Bandele
Vibes and stuff Mc Adad and Yaw of “The Ones”

*Tensei’s music between 2009 and 2011, general overview of what we do.
**Collection of unreleased songs, remixes, and sonic experimentation consisting of live instrumentation and beats

Robots remix for Bilal

Be sure to check Tensei’s remix of Bilal’s Robots.
Available on the ‘Robots EP’ from the Plug Research store.